A Simply Blessed ThanksGiving

I hope that each and everyone had a wonderful ThanksGiving. We had a very blessed day and I am very grateful for every memory we made this ThanksGiving! My husband worked so our kids and I cooked, baked, decorated and had everything ready for when he came home. I went for my 3 mile run and happily made a gluten-free pie crust for our pumpkin pie, it was gobbled up so quickly I didn’t get a before picture but I did get a picture of the crust. I use a recipe from DIY Food Guy; you can find it here: 5 Min Coconut Flour Pie Crust and don’t forget to scroll to the end and save your Gluten Free Sugar Cookie Recipe.

IMG_0736

5 Min Coconut Four Pie Crust

For our main course I roasted a turkey, seasoned with essential oils and little pepper and basil. I personally don’t eat turkey but my family loves it, so I make it for them every year and I love to try new recipes each time. This year I added 2 tbsp virgin olive oil with 1 drop Thyme essential oil, 1 drop lemon essential oil, and 1 drop basil essential oil. Glazed turkey and then sprinkled 1 tsp pepper and basil. Everyone loved it so much that we don’t have much for left overs from a 15 lb turkey. (I only use Young Living Oils to find out more click here: Essential Oils)

IMG_0739

ThanksGiving Turkey with Essential Oils

My daughter and youngest son made Ugly Sweater Cookies. They had a lot of fun making these.

IMG_0723                  IMG_0724
IMG_0733 IMG_0734

Gluten Free Sugar Cookies

You will need:

  • Gluten free flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, at room temp
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp lemon extract
  • 1 large egg or 1 tbsp flax-seed +3 tbsp water
  • 2 ounces cream cheese
  • powdered sugar for dusting, icing and sprinkles for decorating

Preparation:

  1. Place flour, baking powder, and salt in medium bowl and whisk to combine, set aside.
  2. Place sugar and butter in large bowl and beat with electric mixer until creamy smooth. Add extracts, egg, and cream cheese, beating to incorporate.
  3. Gradually add flour mixture and stir to combine. Divide in half and wrap tightly in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for at least one hour.
  4. Preheat oven to 350. Line cookie sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
  5. Roll dough out to 1/4 inch thick on a powered sugar-dusted work area. Cut cookies in to shapes.
  6. Place an inch apart on baking sheet. Bake until edges are golden brown, about 12 minutes.
  7. Remove from heat, allow to cool and decorate with frosting.

*if you will be using flax-seed as alternative to egg. Add flax-seed to water and allow to sit while you prepare step 1, then stir before adding into mixture at step 2.

Our home is feeling festive and our Elf Mark has returned.

IMG_0740

XOXO,

Faith

2 thoughts on “A Simply Blessed ThanksGiving

Leave a Reply

